| 
  • If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • You already know Dokkio is an AI-powered assistant to organize & manage your digital files & messages. Very soon, Dokkio will support Outlook as well as One Drive. Check it out today!

View
 

MondayWednesday

Page history last edited by north 14 years, 9 months ago

Monday, August 31

Barney,Don,North: Introduction to the class

* Delineation of the 3 areas of concentration / departure

* Expectations: Assignments and show

* Possible strategies and models

Barney: Computers and the Hybrid Lab

Don: Power & Control and Electro Safety

North: Fabricating Electromechanical devices


Wednesday, September 2

History of interactive art


Monday, September 7,

Labor Day—legal holiday


Wednesday, September 9

Exquisite Corpse Augmention

Wiki Homework and  wiki response to Lockhart and Multimedia : From Wagner to Virtual Reality Due


Friday, September 11, 4-6 pm

MEDIA ARTS STUDENT AND FACULTY GATHERING

16 Arkansas Street at 16th

Studio F Courtyard


Monday, September 14

Autopsy notes with questions for your future self


Tuesday, September 15th

Arthur Ganson visits. 7-10 pm in the classroom.

This is a chance to meet with one of the most respected and accomplished artists in the world working with kinetics and automata.  He is a very generous person who delights in engaging at all levels of discussion around all the themes with which we are engaged with during our semester's work together.  Please try to come to this event if at all possible.


Wednesday, September 16

Post to your wiki all materials for your Artist presentation.

Each student will be expected to show a work by some artists or group that they can justify as relevant and compelling.

 

http://www.ultrafuzz.net/interfacelinks.html


Monday, September 21

Intro to Max


Wednesday, September 23

Max: Logic


Monday, September 28

MakeBoard, Output


Wednesday, September 30

H-Bridge


Monday, October 5

Actuation+Transmission


Wednesday, October 7

Designing for Motion


Monday, October 12

Sensing and measurement

Active Sernsors

     Infrared ranging

          3-40cm distance

          15-150cm distance

     Hall Effect Magnetic field

          Allegro A1321


Wednesday, October 14

Max+MakeBoard: Input, smoothing and filters


Monday, October 19

Random Motion Assignments

 

Identify and bring in for a class presentation something that moves unpredictably - it can be mechanical, a household object, fabricated or found. Don't forget heat rises, light is very fast and gravity tends to make things fall. One caveat however, this project should be a combination, collage or construction of multiple components. For instance, a toy or a balloon in and of itself would not suffice, but an interaction between the two would.

 

“Anyone who considers arithmetical methods of producing random digits is, of course, in a state of sin”

   John von Neumann

 

hotbits

 

Chaitin

Definition of Randomness R1: A random finite binary string is one that cannot be compressed into a program smaller than itself,

   that is, that is not the unique output of a program without any input, a program whose size in bits is smaller than the size in bits of its output.

Definition of Randomness R2: A random n-bit string is one that has maximum or near maximum complexity.

   In other words, an n-bit string is random if its complexity is approximately equal to the maximum complexity of any n-bit string.


Wednesday, October 21

Final Project Consultations

Please follow Final Project Proposal Guidelines.

     1. 7:20 Conner

     2. 7:35 Ben

     3. 7:50 ANdrew

     4. 8:05 Jason

     5. 8:20 Erica

     - 8:35 break

     6. 9:00 Blaz

     7. 9:15 maria

     8. 9:30 Dustin

     9. 9:45 Kirby


Monday, October 26

Final Project Consultations

Please follow Final Project Proposal Guidelines.

     1. 7:20 Roxy

     2. 7:35 Naomi

     3. 7:50 Shendra

     4. 8:05 Sunday

     5. 8:20 Ted    

     - 8:35 break

     6. 9:00 Alan

     7. 9:15 Joel

     8. 9:30 Katy

     9. 9:45 Luke

 


Wednesday, October 28

In class project presentations


Monday, November 2

Max/Jitter: Video tracking


Wednesday, November 4

MAX/MSP: Sound


Monday, November 9

Materials and Fabrication

Planning to learn and invent (a tinkerers model)


Wednesday, November 11

Materials and Fabrication

Introduction to the metal shop and other scary tools

(after midnight: download demo version of Max/MSP 


Monday, November 16

LAB


Wednesday, November 18

LAB


Monday, November 23

LAB


Wednesday, November 25

LAB


Monday, November 30

LAB


Wednesday, December 2

FINAL CRIT

Bring  your working piece to present to the class.


Monday, December 7

LAB


Wednesday, December 9

LAB


Friday, December 11

SHOW

 

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.